Back to glossary

Top-Level Domain (TLD)

A top-level domain (TLD) is the highest level in the hierarchical Domain Name System (DNS) of the internet. TLDs are the letters that follow the final dot in a domain name, such as .com, .org, or .net. They are categorized into two main types: generic top-level domains (gTLDs) and country-code top-level domains (ccTLDs).

  1. Generic Top-Level Domains (gTLDs): These are the most common TLDs and are not restricted to specific countries or regions. Examples include .com, .org, .net, and .info. In recent years, the number of gTLDs has expanded significantly to include industry or niche-specific TLDs like .shop, .blog, and .app.
  2. Country-Code Top-Level Domains (ccTLDs): These are two-letter TLDs assigned to specific countries or territories, such as .uk (United Kingdom), .ca (Canada), or .de (Germany). ccTLDs are typically used by businesses or organizations that want to target users within a specific geographic location.

Choosing the right TLD for your website is important for branding, user experience, and SEO purposes. A relevant TLD can help users easily identify the purpose of your website and its target audience. Additionally, search engines may give preference to ccTLDs for location-based searches.

In summary, a top-level domain (TLD) is the highest level of the Domain Name System and consists of the letters following the final dot in a domain name. TLDs are essential for website branding, user experience, and search engine optimization.

External resources:

  1. IANA’s List of Top-Level Domains
  2. Moz’s Guide to Top-Level Domains